Texas Lemon Law Statutes
Lemon Law Lawyer in Texas
If you think you have a vehicle that qualifies as a lemon, you need to consider the state you are in, as state lemon laws may vary drastically from federal lemon laws. To determine if your car or vehicle can be described as a lemon – significantly defective from the time of purchase – or not in Texas, contact me today. I have over 20 years of experience helping people fight for the money and compensation they deserve after unknowingly purchasing a lemon. The specifics of your case will not surprise me.
What is the Lemon Law in Texas?
The Texas Lemon Law is a consumer protection law that provides relief to people who have purchased or leased a motor vehicle that is covered by the law and has significant defects. The Lemon Law in Texas applies to new and used cars, trucks, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, and other motorized vehicles. It requires manufacturers to repair serious problems with their products, such as engine stalling or transmission failure, which may leave the consumer without a reliable means of transportation.
In the State of Texas, for a vehicle to be considered a lemon, it must adhere to several specifics that are largely unique to the state. It is very important to keep detailed records of any repairs done to your vehicle, even if they were not done at a certified dealership, as they could help win your lemon law case.
Variations in Texas lemon law statutes include:
- 4-Times Test: If four (4) attempts to fix the same problem on your vehicle have been done within two (2) years, it may be considered a lemon. Additionally, two (2) attempts must have taken place in the first year – or 12,000 miles – and two (2) more attempts must have taken place in the second year – or the next set of 12,000 miles.
- 30 Day Test: If your vehicle was out of service for 30 days in the last two (2) years or 24,000 miles and at least two (2) repairs attempts were made in one year, it may be considered a lemon. For automobiles, if the dealership provided you with a loaner car with no cost to you when your vehicle was out of service, lemon laws may not apply in this situation.
- Safety Hazard Test: If the contested defect causes your vehicle to become noticeably more difficult to control, or if it puts you or your passengers in considerable danger, and the problem persists after at least two attempts to fix it, your vehicle may qualify as a lemon.
Texas Time Limit
Separate from all the other limitations and changes to lemon laws, Texas also has a strict time limit during which a consumer may file a claim. If the warranty expires, two years have passed since it was last delivered to you, whether from the lot or from a repair shop, or if 24,000 miles have been clocked since you first purchased it, you have only six (6) months to file a claim.
Talk to me as soon as possible and act now! I can help you with any lemon law case. Cars, RVs, boats, motorcycles – I have seen and won cases for all them. If you live in Texas and believe you have a lemon, your time to file the claim may be expiring soon.
Call Richard C. Dalton, LLC for a personal and free consultation.